A marriage license is valid for 60 days and is accepted anywhere in the Commonwealth of Virginia. You may apply for a marriage license at any Clerk of the Circuit Court's office in the Commonwealth if you are getting married in Virginia. The minimum age to get married in Virginia is 18 years old unless a minor has been emancipated by a court order.
Applying for a Marriage License
- Both parties must visit the Clerk of the Circuit Court's office to complete a marriage license. A $30 license fee is required.
- Both parties must bring a photo ID.
- If you have been married before, you must first obtain a valid divorce in the previous marriage to marry again.
- To complete the application, both parties will be required to list basic identifying information, including your name, address, city, state and zip code, as well as your Social Security number; place and date of birth; and full names of parents, including mother's maiden name.
- Once the application process is complete, copies of the license and a return envelope will be provided to you for the officiant.
- After the wedding, the officiant must sign and mail the licenses to the Clerk's office.
The Clerk's office is not authorized to perform marriages. A licensed wedding officiant, a qualified minister or any judge can perform the ceremony.
Local Marriage Officiant
K. Wayne Glass
Marriage Celebrant & Wedding Officiant
One-Time Civil Celebrant
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- Must never have been convicted of a felony
- $59.00 non-refundable filing fee and petition required
- Upon approval, a $500.00 bond without surety must be filed prior to the ceremony